The village of Waterford is one of the most charming historic villages in the Shenandoah Valley. Amos Janney, a Quaker from Bucks County, Pennsylvania, established Waterford around 1733. We usually visit the village during the Waterford Fair in the fall but this is an opportunity to visit it in quieter seasons and learn all about the town. We’ll arrive in the morning, take a walking tour of the highlights of the village, have a special catered lunch in the old school house, and get to know your fellow travelers.
After lunch we’ll visit the Phillips farm and take a guided naturalist tour along this border of the village. We’ll learn about some of the waterways that were so important to Waterford’s daily life as well as the wildlife and history that determines its life today. After a stop at the historic Second Street Schoolhouse, we’ll have tea and say our goodbyes until our next visit to this unforgettable village.
To learn much more about the history of Waterford, from mill town to National Historic Landmark click here.